Hi I’m Larissa I grew up in Germany. I’m a psychology major at UVU, and I’m a Mormon.

Image

 

About Me

I joined the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints when I was 14 back in Germany. My best friend gave a little talk in class about a brochure called “The Strength of Youth” that got my attention. I was curious about the high standards of the church and why Mormons weren’t allowed to drink coffee. Many chats followed and progressed into questions about God, Jesus Christ and my purpose in this life. After 3 month of talking about God and Christ I started to get lessons by the missionaries, two young men. They introduced me to the Book of Mormon and invited me to read and ponder about, and then sincerely ask God if it was true. I received an answer and wanted to learn more. I knew that the Book of Mormon was true and that I needed to be baptized but I wanted to have a stronger testimony of the of the Gospel before I would get baptized. I also started to weekly attend sunday church meetings and some activities here and there. After 7 month of being taught by the Elders and a change of heart I said yes to being baptized and picked the 21st of June, 2007 as my date. The day I got baptized was one of the most joyful and happy moment I had in my life.

Why I am a Mormon

Being a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Days Saints has not always been easy. When I first joined the church with 14 years my parents did not like it very much and had me rather not go because they thought that it would distract me from school. After a while my mother forbid me to attend any religious meetings and activities by the church, she also took my scriptures away and told me I was not allowed to meet with members of the church. This did not only bring me heartache, anger and hatred but taught me the most important lesson of my life, the atonement. After a while of feeling anger, hatred, and self-pity I came to realize that I needed to follow the example of Jesus Christ. Jesus Christ loved all of his brothers and sisters, even the ones that despised him. I knew that to become a true disciple of Christ I would have to follow his example and learn how to love my enemies. As I continued to live the commandments and try to obey God I prayed for my mother and that I would be able to love and forgive. I occasionally was allowed to attend church but I wanted to go back more. The spirit and my faith in God helped me to get through this time, as I learned to use the atonement in my life. My testimony of the gospel grew bigger and I learned to stand up for my belief. Shortly after I turned 17 I decided to move into my own apartment. Standing up for my belief and being faithful at all times has blessed my life in so many ways, but most importantly given me an understanding of the atonement of Jesus Christ. This gospel is happiness. I know that my father in heaven lives, loves, and cares about me, but also you. He has a plan for each of us that we can choose to follow, this plan is truly the plan of happiness. Without the savior I would be lost. I know with all of my heart that he lives and payed the price for me and you. I will always be a whiteness of my father and his son. “I’m a Mormon. I live it. I know it. I love it. – Sister Dibb, 2012

How I live my faith

One thing that has fascinated me from the beginning when I first investigated the church was the willingness that people had to serve one another. Service is very important in my life and definitely a way of how I live and show my faith to others. Everytime I serve someone in any way, if it’s a small compliment or something that I do for them, I can feel the love God has for his children and how great the worth of souls is in his sight. Service also helps me to become a better person and to come closer to our savior Jesus Christ. One service activity that I really enjoy doing is hospital singing. I do this every sunday for one hour at a local hospital, and invite my friends to come along with me. Hospital singing is a great opportunity to serve Gods children and share a message through music that testifies my belief of him and our savior Jesus Christ. As I try to be a disciple of Christ I live after his example and there are so many opportunities to serve heavenly fathers children but the simplest act of service that I found is to be an example. As I strive to live after Gods commandments and the standards given by prophets I not only learn how to live a life filled with joy and happiness but also show others to experience the happiness and peace that I do.

http://mormon.org/me/9QP1/Larissa

Leave a Reply

